FElix Vallotton

Painter against Time

Félix Vallottons

The graphic artist, painter and writer Félix Vallotton (Lausanne 1865 – Paris 1925) is not easily classified. Pictures of interiors created at the turn of the 20th century were unprecedented in the history of art. His portraits are unabashed psychogrammes of his sitters. The woodcuts, for which he gained fame at an early age, are scathing interpretations of the lifestyle and ambitions of the affluent bourgeoisie, whose longings and frustrations were all too familiar to the artist.
The understated eroticism and matter-of-fact realism of Vallotton’s often monumental nudes is astonishingly contemporary. Many of Vallotton’s masterpieces are still as provocative aesthetically and psychologically today as they were when they were first came off the easel.

Félix Vallottons

Félix Vallotton – A Dialogue

with Rudolf Koella and Werner Weber

Both the oeuvre and the personality of Félix Vallotton pose many enigmas. This artist and writer eludes psychological classification even though “loneliness” and “detachment” are key words that provide insight into his universe.

The art historian Rudolf Koella and literary scholar Werner Weber are specialists on Vallotton. In a passionate dialogue that is not without humour, they seek answers to the questions that his life and work pose for curious and discerning viewers.

Félix Vallottons

Félix Vallottons

FElix Vallotton

Maler gegen die Zeit

Félix Vallottons

Der Grafiker, Maler und Schriftsteller Félix Vallotton (Lausanne 1865 – Paris 1925) ist keiner Kunstrichtung zuzuordnen. Vallottons um die Jahrhundertwende entstandenen Intérieurs sind ohne Vorläufer in der Kunstgeschichte. Seine Portraits sind schonungslose Psychogramme seiner Modelle. Die Holzschnitte, mit denen Vallotton schon in jungen Jahren berühmt wurde, rechnen bitterböse mit Lebensstil und Ambitionen des Grossbürgertums ab, mit dessen Sehnsüchten und Frustrationen der Künstler durch eigene Erfahrung bestens vertraut war.
Die teilweise monumentalen Akte Vallottons sind in ihrer unterkühlten Erotik und sachlich-realistischen Malweise von staunenswerter Modernität. Und viele Meisterwerke Vallottons sind auch heute noch eine ästhetische und psychologische Provokation.

Félix Vallottons

Félix Vallotton – Ein Dialog

Mit Rudolf Koella und Werner Weber 

Nicht nur die Kunst Félix Vallottons gibt Rätsel auf. Auch die Person des Künstlers und Schriftstellers entzieht sich den Klischees psychologischer Zuordnung – auch wenn Schlüsselworte zum Verständnis des Künstlers «Einsamkeit» und «Distanz» heissen.

Der Kunsthistoriker Rudolf Koella und der Literaturwissenschafter Werner Weber sind Vallotton-Kenner von Rang. In einem leidenschaftlich und auch mit Humor geführten Dialog suchen sie Antworten auf die Fragen, die Félix Vallottons Werk und Person dem staunenden und wissbegierigen Betrachter von heute mit Nachdruck stellen.

Félix Vallottons

Félix Vallottons