GELEBTE KUNST [LIVED ART]
Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Collector, Auctioneer, Publisher, Connoisseur

The collection of the art dealer and auctioneer, Eberhard W. Kornfeld, is an event, and the documentary film ART LIVED takes viewers on a journey to some of fine arts’ most thrilling ‘destinations’, including Alberto Giacometti, Picasso, Chagall, Kirchner, Schiele, Klee, Seurat, Degas, Rembrandt, Goya.
Alberto Giacometti and Marc Chagall were among Kornfeld’s many close artist friends. The legendary auctions in the Kornfeld Gallery are rhetorical highlights of the auctioneer’s career. He is also known for his definitive publication on Ludwig Kirchner, and he donated his exceptional collection of Rembrandt etchings to the Basel Art Museum’s Department of Prints and Drawings.
When Kornfeld begins talking about the masterpieces that have found their way into his collection over the decades, then sparks fly. Passion, experience, knowledge and humility all converge in his dealings with ancient and modern art – art becomes ‘art lived’.
On September 23, 2008 Eberhard W. Kornfeld will celebrate his 85th birthday. 200 works from his collection will be on view at the exhibition ‘Routes through Modern Art’ to open November 7, 2008 at the Albertina, Vienna.

Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Eberhard W. Kornfeld

GELEBTE KUNST
Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Kunstsammler, Auktionator, Galerist

Die Sammlung des Kunsthändlers und Auktionators Eberhard W. Kornfeld ist ein Ereignis, und der Dokumentarfilm GELEBTE KUNST ist eine Reise zu einigen der wichtigsten «Destinationen», die bildende Kunst bieten kann: Zu Alberto Giacometti, Picasso, Chagall, Kirchner, Schiele, Klee, Seurat, Degas, Rembrandt. Goya.
Alberto Giacometti und Marc Chagall zählten zu Kornfelds Künstlerfreunden. Die legendären Auktionen der Galerie Kornfeld sind auch rhetorische Glanzlichter des Auktionators. Über Ernst Ludwig Kirchner verfasste Eberhard W. Kornfeld ein Standardwerk. Seine bedeutende Rembrandt-Sammlung (Radierungen) schenkte er dem Kupferstichkabinett des Kunstmuseums Basel.
Wenn Eberhard W. Kornfeld sich in die Werke vertieft, die im Lauf der Jahrzehnte Eingang in seine Sammlung gefunden haben, sprühen die Funken. In seiner Auseinandersetzung mit alter und moderner Kunst durchdringen sich Leidenschaft, Erfahrung, Wissen und Bescheidenheit – Kunst wird als gelebte Kunst erfahrbar.
Am 23. September 2008 feierte Eberhard W. Kornfeld seinen 85. Geburtstag.
Ab 6. November 2008 zeigt die Albertina, Wien, in der Ausstellung «Wege der Moderne» 200 Werke aus der Sammlung Kornfeld.

Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Eberhard W. Kornfeld

Eberhard W. Kornfeld